You are here: Home Faculty News Press Releases Ute Weisz receives the Bonn University Teaching Award
Date: Jul 14, 2023

Ute Weisz receives the Bonn University Teaching Award Fourteen teachers honored for their outstanding commitment and creative ideas

Fourteen teachers at the University of Bonn have been presented with teaching prizes from the University in recognition of their dedication to the profession. The lecturers—six women and eight men—were chosen by the students themselves. They were handed their prize certificates by Prof. Dr. Klaus Sandmann, Vice Rector for Teaching, Learning and University Development, at a ceremony on the Hofgarten lawn in Bonn that formed part of the Universitätsfest and was attended by over 4,000 people.


Lehrpreise 2023

Teaching Awards 2023 - Together with 13 of the 14 award-winning teachers, Prof. Dr. Ute Weisz (2nd from left) accepted her certificate in person at the university festival. (© Photo: Volker Lannert / Uni Bonn)


Prof. Dr. Klaus Sandmann, Vice Rector for Teaching, Learning and University Development at the University of Bonn, thanked the teachers on its behalf for their outstanding hard work and dedication: “You have succeeded in conveying content to your students in a way that they understand and is relevant to the here and now, and the great enjoyment you get out of doing so is self-evident. Your motivation, your subject expertise and your methodological skills are clear to see. Your students appreciate how you regularly go beyond the call of duty, make an active contribution to curriculum development, are always looking for ways to improve how you teach, draw on the very latest research and help your students to turn their own research ideas into reality. I cannot agree more with these inspiring words from our students and would like to add my own heartfelt congratulations on top.”

2023’s prize-winners are:

  • Bonn Center for Teacher Education:
    Dr. Regula Krapf, Mathematical Institute
  • Faculty of Protestant Theology:
    Dr. Arnold Becker, Language Lecturer for Latin and Greek
  • Faculty of Agriculture:
    Prof. Dr. Ute Weisz, Institute of Nutritional and Food Science
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences:
    Prof. Dr. Margherita Disertori, Department of Mathematics
    Dr. Simone Giertz, Department of Earth Sciences, Geography
    Prof. Dr. Finn Kristian Hansen, Department of Pharmacy
    Prof. Dr. Walter Witke, Department of Biology
  • Faculty of Medicine:
    Dr. Benedict Jürgensen, Oral and Maxillofacial Plastic Surgery
    Prof. Dr. Philipp Sasse, Faculty of Medicine, Institute of Physiology I
  • Faculty of Arts:
    Alba Iglesias Martín, Romance Studies
    Dr. Erika Linz, Department of Language, Media Studies, and Musicology
    Dr. Sebastian Speitel, Department of Philosophy
  • Faculty of Law and Economics:
    Julian Hettihewa, Department of Law, Institute for Public International Law
    Prof. Dr. Hendrik Hakenes, Department of Economics, Institute of Finance and Statistics

You can watch the  video of the awards ceremony for the teaching prizes on the YouTube channel and view  photos in the Universitätsfest album.


... to the press release of the Unversity of Bonn: | 14.07.2023


... more on this topic: | 14.07.2023 | 14.07.2023


Document Actions